Fly FM wins Society of the Year at the 2017 NTSU Awards

Nottingham Trent University’s student radio station Fly FM has officially been crowned as best society for 2017.

The Society of The Year award, which was given at a formal ceremony at The Level at Nottingham Trent Student Union on Wednesday evening, commemorates the way in which Fly was successful in fulfilling the aims and objectives of the society.

It’s given by NTSU to the society that has, among other criteria, “aimed to raise profile of societies within NTSU and the university, effectively managed the society’s budget and accounts, and has had good member retention and engagement throughout the year”.

The student radio station was also nominated for Best RAG [Charity] Event of the Year for the Dare to Do outside broadcast, and Best Society Event, for the 2017 NTSU Elections Results broadcast, which broke listening figure records for the station.

“This award couldn’t have been achieved without the effort of every member here”
– Harley Baptiste, Station Manager, Fly FM

Harley Baptiste, Station Manager at Fly FM, said “This award couldn’t have been achieved without the effort of every member here, from the new to the old!”

“It was a pleasure to accept the award for the society so a big thank you to [all members], keep up the hard work in the final weeks and months”.

The award comes at the end of a very successful year for Fly, after winning six Student Radio Awards in November 2016, including Gold for Best Station Branding, and Bronze for Best Student Radio Chart Show.

They also won Gold for Best Live Event or Outside Broadcast, for the Varsity coverage in 2016.

Fly FM have also completely redeveloped their website, engaging thousands of people since March 2017.

They have also held demo listening sessions with industry professionals, and involved students and members of the public all over Nottingham with their outside broadcasts.

Fly FM receive Society of the Year award
Fly FM receive the 2017 Society of the Year award

The awards ceremony, which was hosted by Fly FM presenters Brad Hope and Pandora Forsyth, included performances by musical artists and street dance squad Funky Fresh Collective.

Other winners included the Politics and International Relations Society who received Best New Society, and Sarah Swanwick who won the Ian King NTSU Volunteer of the Year award.

For a full list of winners, see our coverage on our Twitter page.


Leave a Reply